Just bought my first ticket to a Football(Soccer) game

So on Saturday 23rd August I will be watching Bolton vs Blackburn at the Reebok Stadium. I have NEVER been to a football game before. So can any UK dopers let me know what I can expect? How long before kick off should I go to the stadium? Is buying a Bolton Wanderers shirt to wear mandatory? Anything I particularly need to know?

I have already informed my fiancee that she is now a ‘football widow’ :slight_smile:

Lots and lots of noise. Probably the most heavingly tribal and partisan experience of your life. A wild and wonderful ride. Plus, nasty meat pies, crap beer and little snatch - as opposed to a little snatch. Not to be missed - you’ll love every minute, even opppp north.
Btw, I have to say, I’m closer now to buying a Season Ticket (for Tottenham) than I’ve been for a decade or more . . .

Considered the season ticket myself, but didn’t want to lay out that much cash for something i’ve never done before. Consider it again next season.

I’m afraid it might be cheaper for you next season. Hope not, though, I like Sam . . .

Bolton V Blackburn will be pretty lively with both teams having something to play for (survival and europe respectively).

As stated you will be amazed by the noise, and the partisanship. Be prepared to hear more Man Utd invective than you can shake a stick at.

Most fans don’t wear a replica strip or favours (although younger ones do). If you buy a jesters hat you deserve everything you get!

The aforementioned pies (of which I have eaten far too many if not all). Bovril and Wagon Wheels.

The reebok is one of these modern identi-kit stadiums, which can be a bit souless, but the fans are nice (Blackburn’s away support are NOT nice).

There are a few pubs near the ground (which is in an industrial estate). I’d get there about 30 mins before KO

Thanks owl, London