Kai Tak International Airport: Difficult place to land?

Looking at some of the links in the Low flying jets. How is this not dangerous? thread, I ended up spending hours looking at all the pics at Airliners.net. (Cool site!) There seemed to be quite a few pics of aircraft having difficulties at Kai Tak International Airport in Hong Kong. A few examples of what I’m talking about:
Example 1
Example 2
Example 3
Example 4
Example 5

So, what’s the deal with this place? Is this airport more likely than others to have problems, or is it just photographed more often here than at other airports? Any dopers ever fly in or out of this airport? Is it a difficult place to land?

Well, as far as i know Kai Tak is no longer in use. It was closed in 1998, replaced by the brand new Chek Lap Kok airport.

I’m no aviation expert, but i do believe that Kai Tak was considered a very difficult airport to fly into. Kowloon is surrounded by mountainous country, and incoming aircraft have to get over or through these hills and land very quickly thereafter.

I flew into Kai Tak a couple of times, and on both occasions the approach required a pretty steep turn at what seemed to me to be very low altitude. I remember being able to look into the apartments at the top of high-rise apartment buildings. I’m not someone who is afraid of flying, but flying into Kai Tak for the first time was pretty unnerving.

Sadly, Kai Tak is no more. I never got a chance to fly there which is a source of bitterness for me. Flights into Hong Kong now land at Chek Lap Kok on Lantau Island. It’s a very nice facility, but lacking in excitement.

I flew into Kai Tak in 1993. I was sitting in the middle berth of seats in a 747, and I could clearly see Marlboro signs on the sides of buildings flashing by out the windows before we landed.