Lag Screw Installation

I figure some doper is handy with woodworking so I’m posting this here. I am going to install a lag screw into the wall of my garage to hold one end of a security bar. The bar will cross a seldom used door and be connected on the other side by a sliding bolt. The lag screw will be used to allow the security bar to rotate out of the way when the door does not need to be opened. I’ve never used large lag screws before so I’m wondering if I need to partially drill out the 2x4 it will be installed in. I figure since the screw is of a hefty size, it may possibly cause damage to the 2x4 and render it useless. So if I am going to install a lag screw of say 1/2x8", do I need to drill a slightly smaller hole where the screw will be installed to avoid fracturing the 2x4?

Short answer, yes.

Drill a hole the size of the shank, not the threads, of the lag screw (hold a bit up next to the screw and if you can just barely see the shank, it should be just about right). To ensure that you won’t damage the 2x4 that you are going to install it in, try it on a scrap piece of wood. Also, try to hit as close to the center of the 2x4 as you can to lessen the chances of splitting. Don’t drive the lag in, turn it in as you would any other screw. Finally, drill your pilot hole and squeeze some glue into the hole before turning the lag in.

Yes, pilot drill per octothorpe’s suggestion, but:

1. A 1/2" lag screw in a 2x4 is going to take out abaout a third of the 2x4 - this will not be a corcern unless the structure is weak, or you really need a really strong install - in which case, sand the 2x4 and a scrap of 2x4, and so their sides are both smooth, clean, etc., and glue (carpenter’s glue or construction adhesive) the scrap to the 2x4 - clamp, let cure. now drill the pilot hole between the two glued pieces.

2. Aside from epoxies, I know of no glue which will bond a lag screw to wood.