Laptop use outdoors

I do medical transcription for a living and would love to do it outside. I know there are filtered screens that you can get to fit over your laptop and I’ll likely pick one up. I was wondering if there are any laptops that specifically address the issue of working outdoors, though. I am in the market for a new laptop anyway, so I thought I might be able to kill two birds with one stone.

Does anyone here use their laptop outdoors on a regular basis, and if so, with what kind of screen/laptop? I’m not talking about on the beach, but I’m in south FL and it’s damned sunny, even in the shade.

Thanks in advance for any info!

You can get an “anti-glare screen” as an option on most (if not all) newer laptops, as an upgrade from the reqular LCD. I can’t vouch for their effectiveness, however.

This is probably an unhelpful reply, but I work outside on café patios fairly regularly, and I’ve never had a problem with a plain old laptop (except for the glare from sunlight, but you get that next to a window, too).

Even if you can see text OK, it can sometimes be tough to see the mouse courser. Setting it to a big black arrow helps. Also (assuming windoze) there is a setting that throws an animated bullseye on the curser when you press either ctl key…handy for spotting the darned thing.

Something like this , or like this ?

Ultimate hoodie is the new pocket protector!

The ultimate hoodie made me laugh my ass off! The first covering device actually does look helpful.

As I said, I can see the screen pretty OK, but I get a wicked glare and on top of that actually reading text gets really hard on my eyes over time. I was just wondering if anyone else regularly worked outdoors with a laptop for long periods of time, and if so what they use.

I have used my laptop in my truck, sometimes with the sun directly on the screen and it doesn’t seem to be a problem, you may have to readjust the angle however on occasion.