Lawyer-bashing--Why?

I don’t know if the Teeming Millions are into this, but I sure find that a great many people seem to hate lawyers and find reasons to put them down. I guess most of these aren’t people who needed a lawyer’s help–and in a situation that is no laughing matter. (I am a paralegal.)

A paralegal… I always thought that was a crippled lawyer! OHHHH that ought to get me some flames!

I like a lawyer joke as much as any other joke but I don’t hate lawyers. My family needed and found a great one when we went after the man (I really wanted to put in “fucker” or “asshole” but I refrained) who killed my brother. To me it’s just about like any other job.

The moon looks on many flowers, the flowers on but one moon.

<flameexempt> My dad is a lawyer. </flameexempt>

I’ve found that the humor in lawyer jokes stem from the infomercials (“We don’t get paid unless your case is settled or won!”) or the sheer number of these guys that contact you if you’re injured. Dad is a corporate lawyer and is usually the defense lawyer (and BOY I could tell you stories about some stupid sexual harassment lawsuits… including the person who lied about serving jail time on her resume, got fired for it, and sued sexual harassment because she was fired - just to get $$).

I think any profession that resorts to infomercials deserves some mocking. :slight_smile:

lovelee

I do not hate lawyers but I think people hate lawyers because of the stupid suits like Phen-Fen, Ford, and against Dow Corning. They are absolutely right, these lawyers are greedy bastards, but are not most people? If we are that dissatisfied with the awards that these lawyers and their clients are getting, remember that jurys voted their way. If you think lawyers are really overpriced, become a lawyer yourself and bring some competition into the market.

There is no safety for honest men but by believing all possible evil of evil men.

–Edmund Burke

Damn! Pseudo-HTML didn’t work!