Why Lawyers Piss Me Off

[Preface: I have a law degree from an accredited law school. (Finished 32 of 128, after semester 1, I was 5 out of 168.) About half way through I became very sickened with the profession. I now handle bankruptcies and foreclosures for regional bank. I deal a lot with laywers - the ones that we pay to represent us, the guys in corporate legal, and the attorneys that we are on the other side of the v. of. I know there are “good” lawyers out there, I just see way too many that in over their heads, that are in it for the money, etc. There are many lawyers on this board, and this is not directed towards any of them in particular.]

Incident #1 - While clerking, the attorney I was working for took a case involving who was to be the heir under an armed forces life insurance policy. The law was very clear - not only statutes, but case law that supported the client. The attorney I worked for had a military background and knew this. He could have taken the case on an hourly basis or a percentage. He encouraged the client (a 73 year old woman) to take the contingency deal. He then gave me the facts and asked me to write a motion and supporting brief. It took me 2 hours. I was being paid $10/hour (billed out at $75, BTW). We won on summary judgment. Attorney’s total time = Less than 3 hours. Attorney’s take = $30,000.00. His take on an hourly basis? Less than $1500. (My take = $20, fee sharing is illegal because the lawyers make the rules.)