Lawyers - Quick legal question (not seeking advice)

Quick legal question for you guys:

I’ve got a friend who’s in a slight dispute with her employer as to access to her employment records. She just left the job on Friday, but I told her to physically look at her record to make sure nobody’s tampered with it. She went to Human Resources, and they gave her a line that “Since you don’t work here anymore, you cannot have access to your record.”

This strikes me as complete bullshit. It’s her proprietary information in that folder, and she should still have access to it within a reasonable amount of time after leaving: especially seeing as how that information could follow her along her career (she’s an OTR).

Anyway, I’m looking for some direction in the North Dakota Century Code as to where Employer/Employee requirements are located. I’m not a lawyer, but I play one on TV, and I want to give her enough ammo to show up on a real counselor’s doorstep prepared.

Anybody ever deal with this kinda stuff? Can you point me in the right direction? I’ve looked through a few sections, but don’t know what buzzwords to look for.

Thanks in advance. . .

Tripler
I’m not a doctor either, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

IANAL but my understanding is that she has the right to copies of any material placed in her file with the possible exception of material related to such things as sexual harassment investigations. A decent employer will provide an exiting employee with a copy of that information upon the employee’s leaving the company. She should check with the state department of labor (or whatever it may be called in ND).

I’d send a written request by certified, return receipt requested mail, to the HR Director, and keep a copy, of course. Your friend’s atty. may want to see this document with proof of receipt by the HR.