Learn me about alternative word processing programs (Mac)

I really really want to emancipate myself from MS Word as it infuriates me daily (bloated, does a thousand things that I don’t need or want it to do, wiggy, etc). I know there are things like LaTex and Appleworks out there, but the rub: I have been using Endnote for several years and I think there’s some unholy alliance arranged where Endnote will never be fully compatible with anything else. What I need is a word processor and citations set up to run in OS X. Is there anything out there for citation that works as smoothly (Har! but in theory) as Word and Endnote? Anyone else found any nice solutions?

I don’t know much about Mac software, but i can tell you that one reason i haven’t made the full switch to OpenOffice on my Windows box is that the “Cite While You Write” feature of Endnote is only compatible with Word.

It sucks, because i’d love to be able to make the complete switch to OO, but right now that’s not an option. I do have OO on my computer, and use it for some stuff, but not for my scholarly work.

You might try NeoOffice. It’s a variant of OpenOffice ported to the Mac. It’s free, and has a number of features not found in OpenOffice. I don’t know if it’ll have what you’re looking for, but I like it loads better than Word for Mac.

Have you looked at Apple’s own Pages which is part of the iWork package? Keynote, a PowerPoint competitor, the other half of the iWork package, is quite well done.

I also used Mellel for a while. Not bad.

It may be worth noting that NeoOffice looks better than OpenOffice, but doesn’t work on newer Intel-based Macs. There are community-builds of OpenOffice that do work on these Macs, but I had a really bad experience last month where the Excel clone wasn’t sorting columns containing strings correctly. The mistake was caught by one of my customers. It was embarassing.