Learning Swedish as a second language. Hard?

I am a native English speaker and would like to learn Swedish. (It will be self taught.)

Anyone here speak Swedish as a second, third, etc. language? Was it difficult? What hurdles can I expect if any? I used to be fluent in Spanish. Will Swedish most likely be more or less difficult? (I found Spanish to be insanely easy)

My ancestors came from Sweden and Ireland and I’m just now starting to explore my Swedish background and am now obsessed with learning the language.

Simple: just watch the Swedish Chef for several hours a day.

Heheh. Well, I do know one colorful phrase that sounds sort of phonetically like

“Hul toozen flooga en da veet hoosen”
I suppose since you done learnt yer Swedish from the Swedish chef you would know what that means. :wink:

Swedish is simple. It’s English spoken backwards.
:smiley:

I’m guessing Johanna would know. You around?

I have not learned Swedish as a second language. I have learned Norwegian as a second language. The two are similar enough that I think my experience can help you out. (I can read Swedish with some difficulty, and understand some but not all Swedish dialects when spoken, just to give you an idea of the similarities here.)

Grammar: Not a big deal. Swedish, like English, uses primarily word order rather than inflections to show relationships between words in a sentence. The word order is mostly the same as English, too. This is the easy part.

Vocabulary: You will find some familiar friends; if you speak some German or maybe French, you’ll find more. Mostly, however, you’ll have to memorize lists of words just like when you learn any new language.