Legal question: How is a dog "provoked"

Inspired by a real case, but no details provided.

My state law says that a dog is to be destroyed if he attacks a person and causes more than $2k worth of medical injuries, “unless provoked.”

There are no cases in my state. I’m sure you legal beagles can see the problem: What is provocation of a dog? A poke in the back? The ear? The eye?

Or is it a beating with a baseball bat while backed in the corner?

Has your state opined on what provocation relieves a dog from responsibility? Is it the reasonably prudent dog? :slight_smile:

Take his bone?

Do you want legal opinions only or information from experienced dog people?

I have done some study on this subject in my area. Here is what I have learned (note: I am not a lawyer).

San Francisco has what is called Vicious and Dangerous Dog hearings. These are set up to adjudicate the fate of dogs that have attacked and/or bitten. However, these are administrative law hearings rather than judicial hearings. The hearing officer can rule that a dog is vicious and dangerous, and the penalties can range from rules about leashing and muzzling the dog to destroying the dog. The hearing officer can also rule that the dog is not vicious or dangerous. The grounds for this are usually that the dog is not habitually dangerous and that the incident was not typical of the dog’s behavior (examples below, for those who are interested). I have not seen any instances, although they may exist, where the hearing officer ruled that the dog was provoked. Note: the hearing officer is not allowed to make any monetary penalties, that would have to be done through a judicial proceeding.