Little Hooliganz

So, I hear on the radio the latest hysteria about violent videogames – a game called Little Hooliganz, a football hooligan game marketed to children as young as 7.

And I thought to myself: here we go again. As a video game developer myself, I despair at the negative press that games get: I think most video games are harmless, and the few that conceivably aren’t usually carry an 18 certificate (that parents ignore).

However, this time I was appalled by the concept behind the game (and they also make hooligan toys).
I think it’s a terrible message, but what can you really do about internet-based games? Get them to put an “I am 18” button on the website that kids will click anyway, and pretty please don’t present your game in a child-friendly way? Or censorship?

Oops, I think I’ve put this on the wrong board.

Could someone move this to The Game Room please :slight_smile:

OK.

I think this is a horrible game, obviously. And I think, with all due respect to your profession, that it was also fairly inevitable. It’s not entirely your fault, I think the fault can go back and back and back to Saturday morning cartoons, music and movies. Heck, back into antiquity. Violence in media is a slippery slope. Tom and Jerry’s antics were minimal violence by today’s standards, but the kids growing up on that stuff then had a higher bar when they were old enough to create their own works. Every generation has to be more extreme, more explicit, more violent, in order to push the envelope, remain exciting and topical, and get sales. Eventually you end up with stuff like this, and sooner or later, there WILL be a backlash, things will get too extreme, and we’ll rubber band back to Sunday School Puritanical values, only to slowly climb that ladder to slide down once again. It’s cyclical.