LogMeIn goes pay. Thoughts?

I’ve been accessing my work computer remotely using LogMeIn for around six months now. I use it maybe once a week, but when I do it saves me a drive (12 minutes) to my office.

Yesterday I got a email explaining that the free version was being dropped immediately. :frowning:

Thoughts? What are others doing? Personally, I have my credit card in hand and am about to pay up.

This was discussed on another message board I frequent and here were some of their thoughts:
Teamviewer will still do full 32 bit colors when using the free version and doesn’t seem to be throttled on bandwidth.

VPN into your network and use Splashtop or other RDP-protocol client.

[Windows Remote Assistant](http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/what-is-windows-remote-ass i stance#1TC=windows-7)
I only used it once and that was a long while ago and I’m not sure about these alternative solutions, but thought I’d throw their ideas out there for others to bolster/shut down.

I’m also going to Teamviewer.

OK, I’ve heard others are switching to TeamViewer. But I really like LogMeIn and have grown accustomed to the interface. Damn.

We’ve got ~500 computers in our LogMeIn Central account, with ~50 of those being Pro accounts, and the rest are free. Since we have them linked through Central the free accounts won’t get dropped, but we also can’t add any new ones. The Windows version of Ignition has been buggy for years and seems to be getting worse. YMMV.

I’ve been messing with TeamViewer since last week and really like that it has file transfer capability built-in (LogMeIn Free doesn’t). In fact I’d say I like it better than LogMeIn. I just don’t know how well the service scales, or if it has an account-based launcher like Ignition.