Long term Contract job or stay in job I hate

I am a Policy and Procedure writer for an international bank with offices in Ny and Houston . The powers that be are carving up bits and pieces of the NY office and migrating it over to Houston. My staff has been "outsourced " and I’m the sole survivors, the head of a department of one.

I have just been offered a position as a contract worker for 12-18months with possibility of full time status for a salary that exceeds my current salary by sixty thousand dollars or potentially more if I’m able to work forty plus hours. I have health insurance from my husband .

I don’t know if I should take the contract or not. There’s an excellent chance my position will be outsourced by year end anyway and I’d just get 90 days pay, taxed at a bonus rate, which is, in my state, 48%. I have never done this before but in all honesty, I HATE my current job. Hate the company which is crappy, hate my Boss with a passion that surprises me, and I’m tired of dreading going into work.mi am on call 7 days a week due to the megalomania of my boss who has absolutely no life nor sense of boundaries and is the worst manager I’ve had in thirty years.

Intelligent opinions, please?

From what you’ve said, it sounds like you should jump at the opportunity.

You hate your job and the pay is lower than the alternative, so there’s no argument that you should stay because you are happy or well-paid. That pretty much just leaves job security - and that sounds like a wash, since neither your current job nor the contract position is totally certain; either might or might not be around in 2 years.

So I vote go for it! Even if you hate it, at least you won’t be looking longingly back at your old position.

Good luck whatever you end up choosing.

Your question has been asked and answered.

No one should stay in a job they hate. In that position, the only reasonable step is to find a better job. The contract position you described is an excellent alternative.