Looking for a good site for video game reviews.

What sites do you use to research a game before you buy it?

I’ve recently started buying games again but I’m reluctant to get something when I have no prior knowledge of it. I like RPGs and I’ve been looking at some old games for the original Playstation. I’ll like to find a good game review site before I start spending money though.

PS What do you guys think of Valkyrie Profile or Legend of Mana?

www.gamerankings.com is excellent.

It’s a meta-review site which links lots of reviews for each game as well as providing average scores. It’s got some very useful filters as well if you want to focus on particular genres, platforms etc.

www.gamefaqs.com is my favorite.

Reviews, codes and faqs all in one place. Just take the reviews with a grain of salt, as they’re all user-done.

I like going to www.gamespy.com.

There are reviews for PC games as well as console games, and it’s pretty easy to navigate.

It’s a little annoying though, because there are a lot of those ads that pop-up on the page itself.

Yep, I’ve used that site for a long time. The message boards are also pretty good - the people tend to be pretty helpful. Though on some boards the amount of fanboys is scary.

I like the boards over on gamefaqs.com but I’m not a big fan of their reviews. They’re kinda biased because it’s all user-done. Hmmm, is there such a thing as a unbiased review?

Every now and then I’ll see a good review at a site like www.toastyfrog.com or www.pennyarcade.com. Anyone know of more sites similar to them?

Valkyrie Profile is a great game. I haven’t played any PS1 game in years, but this one of the ones that stand out. I loved getting reports on how the guys i sent off to war where doing and seeing how much all the training paid off.

Modesty prevents me from pointing out my link down there.

Before you buy 'em, try 'em!

Gamer’s Hell has a huge list of demo downloads at rocket fast speeds.