Looking for jobs overseas

I have exactly one year to find the new job, and for various reasons I’m interested in getting a job overseas (ouside the US), preferably an English-speaking country. Canada would be ideal. However I’m very inexperienced with the job hunting process and I don’t have much of a network to work with, especially overseas. Overseas also means I need to find an employer who would sponser me for a work visa, which I realize is a tall order. Internet job sites and mailed resumes haven’t produced any responses so far. Any advice on what steps I should be taking next?

I’d also appreciate any advice on companies or types of jobs to apply. I have a Ph.D in astronomy, and while my math and physics are weak for a Ph.D., I have extensive experience in instrument design (system level, not component level) and laboratory work (testing radiation detectors, optics and system-level testing of instruments). I’m getting somewhat burnt out by academia, and at this point I’ll accept any job where I can put my technical background to good use.

If you want to work in Canada, check out BUNAC. They provide you with a work visa that allows you to work and live in Canada for about six months. They also have programs in New Zealand, Australia, Britain, and Peru.

Thanks for the reply, but BUNAC is only for students under 30. I’m disqualified on both counts (I’m 31 yrs old and finished grad school last year).

The BUNAC program for New Zealand is open to all US citizens aged between 18 and 35. You may not want to go to New Zealand, that’s your prerogative, but it’s an idea at least.

How about teaching high school science on one of our overseas military bases? (Quite different from academia, really)

If you’re interested in coming to Australia, you should probably check out the working visa requirements first.