looking for work in Iraq

I am looking for truck driving work in Iraq.I have been to the Halliburton web page , it wasn’t much help.I am aking if there are any Dopers who might have a line on someone who can help me.I am a seasoned driver with 20 years or so of over the road expeirience here in the States.

I wouldn’t recommend it.

I won’t go into details right now as I have to get ready for work myself, but I know of a fellow that took a job as a truck mechanic for Halliburton in Afghanistan and they royally screwed him ( partly it was his fault for going along with what was essentially a ‘handshake contract’, but they still screwed him in terms of both job conditions and wages ).

Truck convoys are vulnerable to ambush from both ideological opponents of the regime as well as simple economic bandits. There has got to be safer places to find work, no matter how desperate your economic situation.

• Tamerlane

Well, maybe he is a patriot? I would imagine you can always find work as a trucker in the US but who knows. That said I can’t imagine a good reason to go to Iraq of your own free will unless you want to fight or die.

Hey Camper I’m an aid worker in Iraq. I don’t know anyone at KBR or Haliburton, but I might know some people who could give you some advice. Haliburton/KBR does have a rep for really crapping on it’s employees though.

I’ve driven cars all over the country from Basra to Mosul and I’m happy to answer questions you might have about living and working here. You can right me at my email address on my profile. Please put something in the subject line in BOLD CAPS so I know it is not spam.

If you’re ex military, email me at the address in my profile.

<emailing you on behalf of mrAru…keep an eye peeled for it please=)>