Major League Baseball: Odd rules question

I’m watching the Cubs play the Brewers on TV. They’re at Wrigley Field, and the Cubs are at bat with a runner on first and two outs. The batter flies out to center to end the inning. The center fielder then flips the ball into the bleachers for a souvenir.

Now, let’s suppose the center fielder flipped the ball into the bleachers thinking it was the third out, but in reality it was only the second out. Can the runner just trot all the way to home? (We’re assuming that, because they’re in Wrigley, the fan who caught the ball isn’t going going to do the opposing fielder any favors by tossing the ball back to him)

What sayeth the rules in this odd, but possible scenario?

*I believe this actually happened once, but IIRC the right fielder gave the ball to a fan at ground level along first base line and, quickly realizing his error, got the ball back to hold a runner… somewhere. Was that the Red Sox?

It has happened. Yea, the runner keep going until there are no more runners left to go.

Are you sure about that? Wouldn’t this just count as a throwing error and all runners would get to advance 2 bases? ( I think, been a long time since I umpired)

If a throw unintentionally goes into the stands, all runners are awarded two bases. I can’t think of any reason why this case would be any different. Therefore the runner in this case would be awarded third base.

I don’t know the exact rule, but here a recap of an example from the Red Sox in a 2003 game:
“Let’s recap: Last May, Trot Nixon catches a pop fly against the Angels, thinks it’s the third out and flips the ball into the stands, allowing two runs to score.”

http://www.bostondirtdogs.com/Hench’s%20Hardball%20Columns/Hardball%20Archives.htm

Benny Agbayani did it while playing for the Mets in 2000. He grabbed the ball back from the kid he handed it to and tried to make a play, but once the ball was in the stands, the play was dead and the runners advanced two bases. The Mets ended up winning the game anyway, and Agbayani gave the kid another ball later.

If that’s the official rule I’ll stand corrected. I should restate my comment to say, the runners will keep running until the umpire tells them to stop. The umpire has to determine at what point they crossed a base.