Mechanical Engineers - A simple question of names

I’m a hobbyist and I’ve got this idea that, to me, seems pretty simple. I just can’t seem to find the parts because I don’t know what they’re called. I’m pretty sure my idea is feasible, because I got the inspiration from a similar implementation on my motorcycle.

Basically, I want to connect two shafts (spindles? Axles?) using two cables so that rotating one makes the other rotate as well. I’ll use two cables to wind them around the shafts in opposite directions so that twisting the shaft clockwise will provide slack on one cable and simultaneously increase tension on the other cable; twisting the shaft counterclockwise will, obviously, reverse those effects. Ideally, I’ll be using shafts of different diameters so that twisting the larger shaft will make the smaller shaft rotate more.

I can see a similar operation in place on my motorcycle: There are two cables attached to my twist-throttle and they attach to a cam on the engine. Twist the throttle counterclockwise and the fuel supply is increased; release the throttle and springs on the throttle and the engine reverse the impact; twist the throttle clockwise and the cables reduce the fuel supply even faster.

So I need cables (or perhaps wire rope), obvously. I need some kind of collar to attach the cables to and put around the shafts – but I don’t know what that’s called. It is not a “pulley” or “sheave” because those are designed to rotate (relatively) freely and don’t have notches or slots for catching the button-end of the cable.

This is driving me nuts and web searches are not helpful when I’m using the wrong terms. I think I could find a parts supplier if I can provide the right search terms. Better yet, if you know of a parts supplier (probably not McMaster Carr, 'cause I’ve searched there already), please provide useful names (url not necessary).

Thanks in advance!

–G?