Medical Doctors watching TV shows with almost naked actors...

This one time, in real life, I was watching Survivor, okay I’m a loser, but anyway, I noticed that the people were getting pretty thin and they were basically wearing underwear.

IANAD, but if you are a Doctor and you watch a show like that, does your clinical mind kick in…

“hmmm, he looks like he has a mild curvature of the spine. He should get that looked at.”

So my question is, when you watch TV or movies or whatever, are you checking out the people for medical disorders or are you just watching the show?

Thanks,
-Sandwriter

Well, I’m not a doctor, but…

I’m guessing a little bit of both. My father is a dentist, and I’ve seen him make dental observations while watching a show, about some character’s Class III Overbite, or some other such thing.

I’d venture to say that if something falls into your area of expertise, you’re going to notice things that relate to it, even if you aren’t specifically in your “work environment”.

I make analysis of people’s computers every time I see them. I’m sure it happens with everyone.

I make an analysis of people’s computers every time I see them. I’m sure it happens with everyone.

Oops. :slight_smile:

As a doc, I tend to turn off my clinical observation skills when watching the tube, or even during most non-work activities. Only if something stands out would I tend to notice it.

I tend to prefer a healthy balance of work, play, family, etc.

As an RN I find myself doing a quick assessment on people in the grocery stores without even realizing it.

I look at their color, how they are breathing, how swollen their feet or hands are but mostly I look at their veins. I think “Damn I could put a 16 gauge in that forearm. Wow look at his basilic! and Damn her cephalic vein is just awesome.”

This is usually after I have been forced to put an IV in a patient’s very last vein like in their thumb or index finger. I have put them in feet before too.