Medical Dopers: I could use some ideas and advice.

Two weeks ago today, the space above my right front tooth felt numb. Since then, it has spread across the right side of my face. From my jaw to a good portion of my scalp and right ear is numb.

It almost perfectly bisects my face. The left side of my face is fine and I can feel it. The right side I can only feel pressure and at times some itching. It encompasses my upper palate, teeth and gums on the right side, as well as my eyeball.

I saw an ER doc, they did a CATscan and didn’t find a lesion or tumor Sunday before last. My appointment to see a Neurologist isn’t until 8/6.

Any ideas on what this could be and are there things I could do to alleviate the symptoms?

I drink shakes now because I end up biting my tongue and my cheek when I try to eat anything solid. I do have muscle control but no feeling. Help.

While I’m not a doctor, but I do have some personal experience in a related condition that I’m not going to get into at the moment because it would needlessly scare you…

Rather than a CAT scan, did you get an MRI where they gave you an injection? Because if you didn’t get an MRI with an injection of marker dyes, that’s probably the first thing the neurologist is going to do. Do you have odd sensations of fullness, diminished hearing, or ringing in your right ear? You’ll probably get a hearing test too. What is your age? Do you have any popping or clicking in your jaw when you chew?

You’re obviously having some sort of problem with your 7th cranial nerve. There are two CN VII nerve bundles, one for each side of your face. Obviously a neurologist or otolaryngologist will have to diagnose the problem. Count yourself lucky, it took me 3 months to get an appointment with a neurologist.