Men... who are the women that inspire you the most?

Yea, I know this sounds outrageously sexist, but from an intellectual POV there aren’t that many women who inspire me. I’m an engineer, and I have only met two or three female engineers whom I was impressed with. I’m certainly not saying more don’t exist; I just haven’t met many. And the vast majority of female musical artists, IMO, can’t write music. They’re famous because they look good.

Here’s a list of mine. The list need not be comprised of only famous or semi-famous people. They can be relatives or personal acquaintances, too.

Bonnie Baker. She’s an electrical circuit designer. A real expert on op-amps, ADCs, and active filters. One of the best, IMO. Worked at Burr-Brown for many years, and now works for Microchip. As an EE, I enjoy her articles more than Bob Pease’s.

Joni Mitchell. Joni was one of the most talented song writers and musical artists of the 20th century. Just try to find one female musical artist today who can hold a candle to Joni. See, you can’t. Because they don’t exist.

The Storage Sisters. I work with them. They’re amazing… very smart (both are engineers) and very driven. Completely focused on their work. One evening last week, while I was getting ready to leave work, I noticed Tara was getting ready to run outside. It was dark, cold, windy, and rainy outside, yet here she was getting ready to run 10 or 15 miles. I felt quite inferior. :o

Ayn Rand. Yea, say what you want about Rand. But it can’t be denied she was a great thinker. Had a lot of depth in her noggin.

My Mother. Went through some very tough times after my parents split. Yet never accepted any welfare of any kind. The hardest working woman I have ever known.

Came in here to cast a vote for Joni, but the case has already been made, and made strongly. Crafter Man, you understand about her politics and all, don’t you?