Men's Fashion Dos and Don'ts

So I am now in the position where I need to wear dress clothes to work. Shirt and tie most days sometimes a full suit. I have never had to do this before. I am pretty ignorant when it comes to fashion rules.

Black belt and brown shoes? Vice versa?

Never wear green and gray?

With a three button suit do you do al three buttons or is it like a two button?

I understand if this gets moved since it seems silly to refer to anything concerning fashion to be “Factual”.

I’m almost two months into my first dress-up job myself, so I’m still learning. But I know this:

Always match your belt and shoes–both black or both brown.

I’ve never heard the green/gray thing, although a female co-worker yesterday mentioned that gray and khaki don’t go well together.

I’ve never buttoned all three buttons on a three-button suit–only the middle one, or the top two at most. Someone may come along to correct me on this. However, if you’re wearing a double-breasted suit (sharp as hell), you have to leave that buttoned at all times.

Good thing I am wearing my reversible belt today.

Well, the question is very broad, so I’ll just throw out some conventional wisdom and hope it helps. I tend slightly towards a more conservative look, so bear that in mind.

Khakis are not a substitute for real wool slacks. When buying suits, seek 100% wool, not blends. You can save money by washing your shirts (100% cotton, of course) in your laundry, but you MUST iron them and you MUSt use at least a bit of starch. (Yes, there are wrinkle-free shirts, and they can be nice, but it’s no replacement for a real starched shirt.) For suits, always dry clean the jacket and the slacks together.

If you do not like to wear undershirts, do a test on your white dress shirts before you buy them: put your hand between the buttons of the front of the shirt. The more you can see of the tone of your hand (that is, the more sheer the material), the worse it will look with a suit.