Advice on men’s suits

I am going to be changing jobs in May, and will be leaving my current workplace which is pretty informal (jeans most everyday) to one that is a lot more formal. At this new place they wear shirts/trousers on a regular work day, but for big meetings and international travel, proper suits are the norm. The last time I wore a suit was at my wedding 18 years ago (double-breasted grey wool with 1-inch pinstripes), and that is still the only suit I own. So clearly I need to up my game a bit and get myself a few new suits.

But considering I am basically a suit novice, I could use some practical advice. What are the current styles available? (nothing too trendy please) Are certain colors/shades/materials worn on certain occasions? Are there degrees of formality? With a tie or without? And the same goes for shirts and ties, which styles for which occasions? Any Dos or Don’ts? And how often should I change my suit? If I am at a 3-day meeting, should I have 3 different suits?

Thanks!

while many here may consider the suggestion…less than fashionable, I’ve always had good results shopping for suits at Men’s Warehouse. The styles seem to be current, the staff always had what seemed to me to be good to excellent suggestions for more than one shirt/tie color and style combos for every suit chosen. The selection of ties was wide and deep and tall, to me a key thing because a tie can change the entire look of a suit all by itself. The in-house tailor was always quick and efficient. They almost always had something for nearly any budget.

Some of the answers you are looking for are right there. Different shirt/tie color and style combos change the suit completely. A couple of basic black suits of different styles with various shirts and ties is a new suit. OH and SHOES! You need at least two different pairs of shoes, a pair of laced and a pair of slip on shoes. Shoes are incredibly important and sometimes overlooked parts of a suit.