Mental Illness and The College Student

Ok, this is a little random.
I was wandering around the internet at about 6 in the morning after pulling an all-nighter to try to get a few more tracks for my cd done (I’m a musician recording in my apartment) and I stumbled upon (or more like finally paid attention to…) Yahoo Health. After looking into the section labeled encyclopedia and reading up on a disease I was recently (about 4 or 5 months ago) diagnosed with - Bipolar.

I had no idea that it was as interesting as I have now learned. I also read up on the medication I am on and several alternative medications and treatments (including natural herbal treatments and behavior modifications to stabalize ones-self). I found this all fascinating and started to look into Yahoo! groups for mentally ill persons. I also found several groups of college students offering an extended support network for those suffering from such diseases (bipolar, clinical depression, or schizophrenia).

I was just hoping to create discussion here (quite possibly the coolest message board ever) about college, bipolar illness, and coping with mental problems such as mania or depressive swings.

Any advice for someone who is ultra curious and looking to learn everything possible about this?

Might be worth letting one of the academic staff know - they are usually v. understanding, and can give you some leeway with deadlines etc if they coincide with a rough patch.

Change your major to psychology, you’ll learn amazing amounts about such things :smiley:

No, for real. I spent all evening yesterday reading case studies just for curiosity’s sake, but to everyone else, it looked like I was working hard!