Mentioning personal growth on a job application?

I’m applying for a summer job of potential long-term value. Turns out the person handling the applications is a former teacher of mine (the circles are small in my line of work). Back in the day, I was a troubled guy, an offensive bipo pessimist with a strong loner streak. A dream worker, for sure! I know, and people remark I’ve definitely changed for the better since then in many ways.

I have no idea how my former teacher felt about me, as he never confronted me about my behavior. Aside from being an asshole, I was a knowledgeable top student. His ex-wife, also a teacher there, did confront me on just the above issues, so I’m not making things up in my mind. I’m sure the wife discussed me with her husband, and not in a positive light. OTOH no-one liked the wife, she left the teaching job doors-a-banging, and they did get divorced, so maybe her view doesn’t have that much weight.

I’m asking for opinions on whether I should mention my emotional growth since the student days on the free-form application? Add something like: “P.S. During the past several years severe introspection, and becoming a father of two, among other things, has made me a much more valuable teamworker than I was in the past”. (Pay no attention to the specific words here, as I will not be writing this in a foreign language like here). Is this a thoroughly bad idea? Should I just make a regular application and hope my past doesn’t prevent me from getting hired?

My vote is that you don’t mention this in anything you send or give people, and be ready with an answer if somebody else asks you about it. Also, you should be (as you are) aware of this as a possible issue, and you should try to project your new and improved self, and think about any leftovers that you may still carry and try to minimize their appearance in your ways.