MEs in Grad School: What's Left 2 Do?

A physics & materials friend of mine and myself (undergrad ME) were wondering what is left to study as a pure ME in grad school? If anything is left, I can only imagine the following:

a) My thermo prof worked on how combustion really works as it is not as simple as one might model with one simple thermochemistry equation, but that’s a mix of thermo + chemistry, typically organic.

b) Tensile strength of new materials, but I bet the materials engineers have us beat here, too…

c) Maybe heat transfer from new materials or today’s micro-electronics, I WAG?

d) Fluids like maybe at extreme temps, like supercooled, or something?

So, what else would be leading-edge ME research? I WAG a higher degree in ME is not too useful as opposed to a move into another technical area?

• Jinx
    P.S. Admins: This may border on factual vs. opinion. Feel free to bump, if needed.

When I was an ME in grad school 10 years ago it seemed like almost everyone was working on finite element analysis and other kinds of computer simulation. A few people had grants from industry or the military to design specific machines or mechanisms. Ask your professors what they are working on.

Jesus, what can’t you study in more detail in grad school? :wink:

Seriously, an undergrad in Mechanical Engineering (which I have) serves only to introduce you to the fundamentals; unless you’ve spent a considerable amount of time in extracurricular study, you barely know anything beyond basic engineering priciples. In particular, areas of advanced study include computational fluids dynamics, nonlinear and digital controls theory, materials fatigue theory, micro-electrical-mechanical systems (MEMS), aeroelasticity, systems design, adaptive systems, heuristic automation design (AI robotics, machine vision), adaptive tribology, nonlinear vibrations theory, biomechanical systems, and so forth.