Microsoft = Spawn of Satan.

As a change from the American Presidential Election and its attendant issues:

I pit Microsoft. Office 2007, in particular.

I know this is old hat but if I don’t publicly shriek in outrage and horror I’m going to 'splode.

I don’t even know where to start. I’ve used Word since it first appeared on a computer screen and now. * Now* some dork somewhere thought I’d like little pictures to show me howta use Word. I will hunt down and beat that dork to death with my failed C drive.

I’m not feeling better yet.:confused:

Maybe I should start ranting about Quickbooks Pro and its little pictures meant to show idiots like me how to use a program I’ve been using for 10 years. Maybe I should just go jump off a bloody bridge and get it over with.

Why is it necessary to “new and improve” something that worked just fine as it was? I don’t want an April Fresh version of Word, I don’t want Newer Quicker anything. I’m old and I like things to stay the same.

At least my new computer has Windows XP. One experience with Vista is probably what caused the nervous breakdown that caused me to post this.

I haven’t used the new Word enough to know whether I hate it as much as the old Word, but I can share a random fact I discovered today:

Y’know how everything typeset in Word looks like dogshit? That’s because it doesn’t do kerning by default (or decent justification, or any of those things that have made typography not shit for the last umpteen years, but that’s by the by). Anyway, the random fact is that it actually does support proper kerning, it just doesn’t enable it. If you open a new document, right click and select Font…, then choose the Character Spacing tab, and check “Kerning for Fonts”, setting it to something like 8 points and above, then click the “Default” button, all of your documents will magically look much, much better (assuming you’re using a font with proper kerning tables; the new Office fonts such as Calibri and Cambria have these).