Mid life career change

I’m a little new to the dope, so I don’t know if this has ever been a thread before. Anyway, does anyone have any inspiring or uninspiring stories of mid life career change - themselves or someone else?

I’ve changed careers many times over the years.

As a teenager I did many entry level jobs such as working at a car wash and being a cook.

After high school I joined the US Air Force to become an aircraft mechanic. I thought that would be a good skill after I got out.

Well I didn’t get out after 4 years. However after about 8 years I volunteered to become an instructor teaching aircraft mechanics. This was a really tough choice as I was horrible at public speaking. I went to night and evening schools to get a BS in Education as I thought teaching high school would be a good thing when I retired.

After a while I was transferred to a headquarters to oversee training of aircraft mechanics. There were these newfangled computer things on the desks. I found out that I was somewhat a natural and converted a lot of paper intensive tasks into databases. I went to night school again and got a MA degree in Computers as I thought that computers would be a good career when I got out.

I was right. I retired from the USAF a couple of years before the Y2K scare and there was plenty of work. I started out with MS Access databases then worked myself up to become an Oracle database administrator which is a very good paying job. I also used my BS in Education to teach database night classes at a local college for a lot of years.

So I have a good paying job now; a military retirement check; and shortly I’ll be receiving a small retirement from the college teaching gig. I owe this to a wife who supported my decisions ( and all but forced me to go to night school ) plus my willingness to take chances with new opportunities.

following thread. Good luck.

I know two women in their 50s who are in LPN school. :cool: