Miranda rights and mind-alterating substances

If someone is so drunk that they don’t know a civil right from a hole in the wall, can they truly give consent to being questioned? Can they give consent to being searched?

A “Terry Stop” is when you are not under arrest but the officer is questioning you “for the public safety.” If during the Terry Stop your answers indicate public drunkedness then that is evidence for the arrest. After the arrest they can legally search you and not just “frisk for weapons.”

I am not an lawyer but I play one on the Internet.

The answer is, generally, no – the decision to waive rights must generally be freely,voluntarily, and intelligently given, and the burden is on the government to show, by preponderance of the evidence, that it was in fact freely,voluntarily, and intelligently given.

There are several errors in the statement above.

A Terry stop is not correctly described as an officer questioning you ‘for the public safety’. A Terry stop is a brief, investigative detention that falls short of an actual arrest. Unlike an arrest, which must be predicated on probable cause, a Terry stop is premised on reasonable, articulable suspicion.

The OP asks about a waiver of Miranda rights, which is required before any questioning in a custodial setting is admissible as evidence. While a formal arrest is not an absolutely necessary predicate for custodial interrogation, it’s fair to say that as a general rule, the question of Miranda waivers is seldom antecedent to arrest.

What does “articulable” mean, legally, in this context?

More than just a general suspicion or a hunch; something the officer can state with a degree of particularity as justification for the stop. “And in justifying the particular intrusion the police officer must be able to point to specific and articulable facts which, taken together with rational inferences from those facts, reasonably warrant that intrusion.” Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 21 (1968).