Mixing Different Breeds of Horses

Is there a ‘rule of thumb’ regarding mixing different horse breeds together in the same paddock? I’m still new to owning horses and I don’t want to make a rookie mistake.

I have two Quarter Horses, one is a 7 yo and the other is a 15 yo. I assume that since Quarter Horses are closely related to Paints there shouldn’t be any problem mixing them together in the same enclosed area.

Let’s assume they are all geldings and of similar ages.

But what about mixing them with other breeds? Since different breeds have different temperaments is it foolish to mix, say, Arabians with Quarter Horses in the same paddock? Or does it depend more on the individual horse’s personality?

For example, I may have to put them in with a bunch of Tennessee Walkers for a while. I know that horses will chase each other to establish a pecking order, but I don’t know if mixing breeds makes any difference.

Any thoughts?

bump

I’m not one of the resident horse-owners here on the Dope, but I was around them a bit (and hoo, boy, did I read about them when I was a girl. :slight_smile: This qualifies me as an “expert” until someone else wanders along. Since you’re bumping after a half-hour and all!) Anyway, if they’re all geldings, you shouldn’t have too much of a problem - relative to, for instance, throwing a stallion into the mix - but horses don’t really pay attention to breeds the way people do. Individual temperaments rule: if one is particularly aggressive or badly socialized, say. Or just an asshole. Horses come in asshole form just like people.

Any chance you can let your horse(s) get acquanted over a fence first? What do the owners of the Tennesee Walkers - beautiful horses, BTW - have to say about your little intruder(s)? :slight_smile:

The barn I ride at has a paddock where two miniature horses, two warmbloods, and two ponies live. They all get along fine. I’ve personally never heard of anyone separating horses by breed.