MMO Movement Controls: Is it time to standardize?

I’ve been playing World of Warcraft for a bit more than four years. I also played City of Heroes for a year (unfortunately, it happened to be the last year of its existence - I discovered it late). When I started playing WoW, it took me about two minutes to figure out and become comfortable with the movement controls. When I started playing CoH, I found the controls to be virtually identical, and I stepped into the game with no difficulty. Both of those games have/had the “standard” WASD keyboard controls, along with the ability to steer by holding the right mouse button and moving the mouse. This setup was so intuitive that I “got it” almost immediately, despite no MMO experience prior to taking up WoW. My only 3D gaming experience before MMOs was a lot of Duke Nukem 3D and a bit of Doom. I’ve done no console gaming since the Super Nintendo.

I’ve been trying my hand at a few other MMOs, with mixed success. The movement in RIFT is pretty much the same as WoW, and LotRO is pretty close. But I’ve tried a few others with very mixed success:

D&D Online: Uses a click-to-move system that I found counterintuitive; lost interest in the game for other reasons

Tera: Uses a FPS “mouse-look” movement system - you hold down ‘W’ to move, but steer by waving the mouse around without holding down a mouse button. I found this incredibly distracting and disorienting; you can’t move the mouse at all without spinning your character around. So frustrating that I uninstalled the game before I got out of the starting area.

Wizardry: New F2P MMO from SoE, based on the old-school Wizardry RPGs from the 1980s. It looks fantastic but … I simply could not make my character go where I wanted. By default, both the X and Y mouse axes are “reversed”. I found the setting to change that, but even then the movement controls felt so strange that I couldn’t stand it. Like Tera, uninstalled before getting out of the starting area.