Moderating a game...

Ok, so I’ve been moderating an online game I’ve been playing for the last 8 months for a while now. This has to be the crappiest job I’ve ever had to do.

The good thing is the community is still pretty small. Thank god. I can’t imagine another 10,000 players with how things are set up.

First off: The rules. The rules are by and large pretty fair and reasonable. No swearing, don’t cheat, some things to ensure good sportsmanship, no harassing players. Ya know, basic guidelines for existing in normal human society. By and large, most of the players have no problem with them.

But the ones that do :confused:

–“Swearing is not a constitutional right on server operated by a private company” – This applies to the yahoo (and we get one every few weeks) who breaks the rules then claims the Supreme Court ruled that you can’t enforce rules on a MMOLG.

–“Don’t listen to players x,y and z. They will lie to you.” Yes, I specifically warn new players about other members of the community. They cheat, they have been caught cheating and had their characters severly penalized. They will do it again the second they think they can get away with it. So, DON"T LISTEN TO THEM! And if you do, and get caught breaking the rules. Don’t go psychotic on the staff when we are enforcing the rules.

–If you watch your buddy get kicked for something don’t be suprised when I kick you for doing the same thing.

–When you get kicked for doing something don’t a) rush to the forums b) threaten the staff c) threaten to hack the server d) continue to violate the rules e) continue to break the rules of your kick/temp ban by accessing elements of the game (ie forums)