Momma saying Later gator

Often when I was younger my momma would say “Later gator”.

When I first heard that phrase I didn’t know how to answer it.

Then my momma told me that the answer to the phrase is “In a while crocodile”.

So from then on whenever she said “Later gator” I answered “In a while crocodile”.

I think I first heard this phrase when I started learning about alligators and crocodiles. I could be wrong though. I might have heard it earlier than that.

Anyway, when I was about 11 years old she stopped saying “Later gator” and just said things like “I have to leave for my meeting”.

But I have still heard those 2 phrases. In particular I have heard it from the wild kratts episode Crocogator Contest.

I don’t know if she started expecting me to say “Later gator” or what but she still hasn’t said it for the past 5 years.

Could it be possibly because of my fast growth and her thinking that I will be taller than she is(She is 5’ 5" and I am 5’ 4" but a growth spurt could happen at any time) and that crocodiles are bigger than alligators and thus I should be the one saying “Later gator”?

I have no idea what your mom’s expectations are, but me, I’d expect the first person who says “bye” to be the one using the phrase. After all and as you say, it’s kind of a starter.

Link to Mr. Haley & Co.

I know what the Spanish version is called, but I imagine there are covers in other languages as well.

This may sound like a crazy, off the wall, suggestion but …
Maybe you could ask her.

At a certain point in your life, your parents stop saying “goo-goo-ga-ga” to you.

The day comes when they stop playing “this little piggy” with your toes.

The day comes when they stop praising you for being such a “big boy/girl.”

Then the day comes when your mother stops saying “later gator.”