Moral Dilemma

As some of you know I work as a computer technician. Part of my job involves setting up ADSL service for customers. Well I got to work today and I found out that I am going to be reinstalling service for a customer…who had to move suddenly after it was disclosed in the National Post
newspaper on Saturday that he was a Serbian paramilitary officer who was convicted in abstentia of torturing and executing Croatian prisoners during the Bosnian war. Unfortunately I have no choice but to do the work. My question is how do I assuage my conscience after helping him out?

Keith

I guess maybe I don’t understand all the circumstances here. It seems to me that there are two things you can do:

1. Can you refuse to supply your services on principle? I don’t think your job really does require you to make this man’s life easier in any way if you feel it’s wrong. Surely your company can send someone else if need be. Talk to your supervisor about it.

2. Don’t assume that because he has been tried and convicted in absentia that he committed the crimes of which he’s accused. It does seem possible that he’s simply an easy political target since he’s no longer in Croatia (or Serbia, for that matter). War is messy (understatement) and everyone wants to be able to point fingers at the evil people responsible for the suffering. Just because fingers get pointed does not mean they’re aimed at the right people.

If you do need to serve him through your job, you might even ask him about it. See how he reacts. It’s not every day you’ll be able to be face-to-face with an accused war criminal. You have a unique opportunity to make your own judgments, based on personal contact rather than filtered through the media.

If you really are convinced he’s done wrong and want him out, can’t you now disclose his address and phone number to interested parties? You’ve got the information. Fish or cut bait, as they say.