More BS from Micro$oft?

http://www.microsoft.com/ntserver/nts/news/msnw/LinuxMyths.asp

Is any of it true?

Well, MicroSoft obviously has a vested interest in denigrating Linux, but I just read the latest issue of PC Mag and they say yes. You can probably read the article on-line at http://www.pcmag.com

And now, for the other side of the story… Microsoft is obviously running scared. Windows 2000 is running WAY late, and is still not ready for prime time (I tried Win2000 RC2. What a bugfest!). The ‘Myths’ page is a combination of half truths, factoids taken out of context, and outright lies. The Linux community has mostly been laughing at this bit of tripe. For a reasonably good rebuttal, check out this Linux Today article.

Yes, I AM an agent of Satan… but my duties are largely ceremonial.

Yes and no. MS is not giving the full story, but of course they really shouldn’t be expected to. In marketing, everyone wants to make themselves look best.

The tests that are referred to were geared towards a situation that would specifically illustrate the situation in which NT performs better – high scale single systems. Linux is not well designed to utilize multiple cpus. This can be a bit misleading. Those high scale systems are very expensive and often not needed. I run a Linux webserver on a plain old PII-233. It gets about 750,000 requests a day, and doesn’t break a sweat. I’d love to see a comparison of NT vs. Linux on a system like mine. :slight_smile:

Linus Torvalds said he had no doubt that NT would win this test because is was a very “NT friendly” test. He also said that it would effectively serve as a reminder to Linux developers of where they need to focus next.