More for Bible Translation Experts. . .

I read somewhere that the infamous verse “Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live,” is actually a mistranslation and should read “Thou shalt not suffer a poisoner to live.” Anyone know?

Also, I read somewhere else that the Holy Grail isn’t actually a cup or chalice…supposedly it’s a corruption of the Latin graduale, or ladder. Thus the Holy Grail is the ladder that Joseph of Aramathea used to climb up and take Christ off the cross. I’ve been chewing on this ever since I read it, so I’d appreciate any positive information. Thanks!

Don’t think so:
http://inthebeginning.net/cgi-bin/EnglishBible.htm

This link has a good Bible search engine, with the original Hebrew (Select "KJV/W Strong’s Definitions), and a list of various meanings that the Hebrew contains.

I took a quick look at that verse (from Exodus), and the word does not resemble the other words for poison.

But I’m also not a Hebrew expert. :frowning:

Anyway, with this engine, you can search for words to get a list of places where they’re used–and then search for that verse in Hebrew.

It also contains the New Testament in Greek.

Have fun!

The verse in question is Exodus 22:18; the operative word is rendered “witch” in the King James Version. In Hebrew, the word is kashaph (“kaw-shaf”), which is a root meaning “to whisper incantations” or “to use witchcraft”. It is closely related to kashshaph, which means “magician” or “sorcerer”. A third related word, kesheph, means “magic”, “sorcery”, or “witchcraft”.