Mosquitos: "the eco-system doesn't need them"

I am listening to NPR, The Takeaway. A scientist from the US Navy just said the claim listed in the OP Title. This is coming within the context of a piece on the Zika virus and whether it makes sense to eradicate mosquitos as part of combatting Zika, and many other skeeter-born viruses.

This scientist, Joseph Conlon, US Navy entymologist (retired) said we should look at eradicating them via introducing genetic issues that propagate and lead to their demise.

Humans have a way of missing unforeseen consequences - the Unknown Unknowns, if you will. I imagine things Humans might miss that can play out in this type of scenario…should we be looking to eradicate disease-carrying insects like this?

If any Doper scientists, with emphasis on eco-stuff and entymology, discuss this? Is it common for certain pest insect to be considered eliminate-able?

From here.

I’m no scientist, but I think we could do without them. Nasty buzzin’ bastards!

Entomologist/scientist here.

My creds - I work on GM mosquitoes (18 years experience) and mosquito-borne pathogens (12 years experience), and am getting ready to make the big jump into Zika. Would have before now, but until a few months ago no one really cared about Zika. If there wasn’t a potential link to newborn microcephaly no one would care about it now.

Eradication has been tried before. Its is very difficult. The GM mosquito technique currently being used is the RIDL strategy. Here’s a post of mine from about a year ago on the details of this:

GM Mosquitoes: What say you?

I think that post goes into the what can go wrong. Pretty much nothing that will make the situation worse, and if gone right plenty of things that will make it better.

Elimination by release of sterile insects can work (Sterile Insect Technique Successes) but its difficult.

Thanks mozchron! I hadn’t seen that. I will dig in.