Moved into a one-bedroom apt.... how can I keep the cost of the utilities down?

I’m used to living with roomates… well, they’re dirty scumbags who wouldn’t clean their dishes if Jesus himself came down and asked them to.

I decided to get a one bedroom, but I’m concerned about utility bills. I live in Southern IL, which is humid and hot. I’ve been trying to be smart about the AC and use as needed, but sometimes it’s unbearable.

Now another question is the “fan” feature on the ac/heat control box. We have the option of “Auto or On” When it’s on, does that mean it’s always running? Would this produce the same output as having the AC on? Does it even make that much of a difference? Is the auto feature something that actually makes a difference? What is “automatic” about it? When I set it to auto, I never even hear it turn on.

So, can anyone shed some light on this? What should I pay attention to to keep utility bills down since they’re on me. I’m a college student so it’s important. Take less showers? keep the water bill down, sure! but I’m not willing to compromise to that extent.

Does it really make a large difference if I leave a light on for an extra 20 minutes while I leave the room or the TV on? How about the computer (HP laptop) other things I can watch out for? I’m pretty fiscally conservative (since i have no money) so I’m trying to watch out for myself every way that I can.
Thanks, you crazy dopers and if you would like to contribute to my “poor college students apartment fund” I will be happy to provide you with a paypal account address :wink: I kid, I kid.

Advice? stories? help? Help me save some money here! :slight_smile: