My boyfriend once smurfed a kid.

Things you find out when visiting your significant other’s parents.

Backstory: I’m a full-time student in a long-distance relationship. If I want to visit the fella, I need to scrape up gas and grocery money to drive to yon neighboring country, but any other accommodations besides his parent’s house are out of the question. Because, you see, he lives with them. He could afford his own place, but his family all actually like each other, so he stays and is able to put a lot more towards his student loans. His family is great, and while his mom likes to gnaw on her sons’ girlfriends a bit, she honestly isn’t so bad. I’ve seen much worse.

His mom has put a lot of effort into the family photo albums. The photos are all numbered, and she’s put in little captions designed to spur the “tour guide” of the album to tell stories or dredge up memories relating to the photos on that page. For example, we turned the page and saw a pic of a boy scout parade (ok, Beaver Scouts for the tiny Canuckians) and he groaned “oh, I remember this, I hated that parade, hated hated hated… let’s move on” then he quickly turned the page to more pictures of the parade, with the handwritten caption “he still gets mad when he thinks about this.”

Here’s what I learned from a perusal of just a small fraction of the photo albums they have, on the last visit:

1. He smurfed a kid once. I knew he was weird (I’m weird, and we’re like two peas in a pod, thus he is weird), and I knew he loves the Smurfs, but I didn’t know how deep his obsession ran. One day, when he was little (but I got the feeling big enough that it wasn’t accidental toddler vandalism), he and a friend were left alone while coloring with markers. When the kid’s parents came, out they trotted… he had colored in nearly every inch of his friend’s face in solid blue. He’d gotten a few retaliatory marks, but the other kid was really, really smurfed.