my car got stolen. from a garage. help.

So I have been parking my car at the same garage for two years now, and paying 360 bucks a month to basically make sure my car won’t get stolen. I live in New York City, where you either park the car on the street or go to a garage and pay through the nose. Now, some people might find this odd, because I drive a twelve year old, slightly beat up BMW and I hardly ever take it out of the city, but really, I’m extremely attached to my car. I’ve had several opportunities to get a shiny new car but have always turned them down, because I. Love. My. Messy. Car.

The last time I drove my car was on January 5th. I drove it to the garage, turned the keys over to the night shift guy, and walked home.

Today, I go to pick up my car. They can’t find it. I searched the building. Threw a hissy fit. Then filed a police report for my stolen car. I can’t fathom why-- in a garage full of brand new, gorgeous, expensive cars-- someone would take mine. The engine rattles! The seatbelts don’t work! It has like a million miles on it!

To add a little more misery to everything, the cops clearly don’t give a damn about investigating the case, even though there’s a set number of people who have access to the elevators that move the cars from level to level. The police just think I should file an insurance claim and settle for the no-doubt paltry amount my car is actually worth, and don’t seem to think they should bother checking who might actually have stolen it. Also, they told me that my insurance rates will go up. Is this true??? How is that possible? I didn’t have an accident. I parked my car in a garage for safekeeping and it got stolen from me. Does anyone know if this really happens?