My co workers are current events illiterate.(Lame)

I am a nurse. My colleauges are also nurses. College level, at least education. Some are very street smart. Some are very good nurses. But by and large most of them… (I did say most, not all) they are ignorant, completely about world events, books, history, anything they didn’t find out from People Magazine Okay, most days Im ok with that. But I dont know, this week, I really wanted to comment on the death of Benazir Bhutto. One of my co workers wanted to watch the CBC Newsworld during lunch about some crime thing that happened in Alberta.

Benazir Bhutto had been assasinated.

Who?

You know, Benazir Bhutto, the former prime minister of Pakistan.

Oh, is that woman his widow?

No, Benazir is a woman. Was a woman. Whatever.

But Pakistan and all those countries hate women. She’d never have gotten elected.

Um she comes from a political family…its a tradition… somewhat like Indira Gandhi in India

Who?

Ak I gave up there. Then my comment that this cannot be good for the whole Afghanistan, Iraq thing… Al Qeda… blankblank faces. I wish it was just a whoosh. I got 4 other nurses spouting 4 different kinds of ignorance. I gave up. Didnt matter… had a few coming back to argue with me hours later that a woman could not possibly have had a leadership role in Pakistan. Some were sure Pakistan was no where near the trouble spots, just in a nice place in Africa.

Oh yes, you’re right. Of course. Carry on.

(Note: I am not some grandly informed person on world events. I watch the news, somedays I even read the paper (but more on line these days,) I claim no specialized interest or saavy. But I read with some comprehension, I can find Pakistan on a map, and I remember some names of past world leaders. Compared to my colleauges, Im a fricken genius Sadly, this is just one example lately. No one I work with reads other than crime fiction or romance/chic lit things. Or diet books. But thats a whole 'nother rant.)