My dog hair sticks like crazy to my "100% wool" suit. Can I figure out if I was lied to?

I am far from a suit expert, but I have owned suits before that I am pretty sure were 100% wool. I have never had problems with them attracting and hanging on to large amounts of pet hair.

I just purchase several suits from a place that said their suits were 100% wool, but after wearing them for a few days, I am definitely noticing a difference in how pet hair clings to them. I’m looking down at my pants and thinking I am going to need to buy a lint roller and bring it to work.

Isn’t that a indication that they have a substantial amount of polyester in them? Is there any way I can tell? Did I get ripped off?

PS. I did get the suits from Jos. A Bank (maybe that will help the discussion), but I am not interested in a Jos. A Bank vs other suits argument. I am looking for a factual discussion.

I think your method of proof/investigation is off. I can’t believe pet hair clings to polyester more than wool: the materials work to the contrary. Polyester cloth is very very smooth, so the physical trapping of hair is far less, and I believe has little or no ability to store static charge (although I’m sure others can correct me or go into details better than I can on that).

In NYC, at the bigger clothing stores, to be 100% sure you need only request that the suit be checked for
shatnez Shatnez - Wikipedia

Extraordinary how the market adapts to local conditions. Gentile tailors in this case know more arcana of Jewish mitzvot than most secular Jews.

Polyester hiking clothes can develop quite a bit of static charge, sometimes it clings tightly to the body almost like cling plastic wrap.

I stand corrected, and apologies to OP.