My effort to attone

Greetings. I am a newbie here. I was just taken to task in the BBQ Pit for not having enough variety in my first ten posts.
The thread is Say Hello to our newest OTP-ClawsofCatt!* http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=165835

In an effort to attone, and to sufficiently diversify my posts, I would like to share excerpts from a book I am reading: “Fatal Mountaineer: The High-Altitude Life and Death of Willi Unsoeld, American Himalayan Legend,” by Robert Roper, St. Martin’s Griffin, New York. I have selected excerpts I think will be of particular interest to this board.

There. I hope this helps.

I messed up the good part on that last quote.

Ever crap your Buttress?

Ooh, clever.

(Sorry, lieu, I was aiming for the vaunted #3 post myself :slight_smile: ).

Sorry, ClawsOfCatt, wrong forum. The nail-biting tension apparent in the passages you quote disqualifies them from being mundane. And the fact that you started the thread for an actual reason means that it’s not really pointless. But thank you for sharing.

I do hope you will take the above in the playful spirit in which it was intended. Welcome to the SDMB.

Should I correct her spelling, or would that be piling on an already persecuted newbie?

I can’t believe we are wasting valuable hamster energy with this…

At least it wasn’t a “Tenth Post Party!” thread;)

Sounds like they need to start marketing a “Depends for Mountaineers” type product. :slight_smile:

Hi Claws! Howyadoin?

How’s that for “a waste of bandwidth”?

Thanks, kaylasdad99

Me, too. But, welcome! :slight_smile:

Wow! I thought this board was dedicated to “Fighting Ignorance…” I guess that kind of ignorance is okay?