My First Pitting: My now ex-job

Ok, this is a bit complicated and I’m more than a little angry right now, so you’ll have to bear with me on this one.

First, the background
I graduated college in December with a pretty worthless degree unless I’m going to law school.(Which I am, in August) So, with this worthless degree and the fact that I’m going to be leaving the area in August, my job options were pretty limited. That’s ok, though. I understand that doesn’t neccesarily make me an attractive hire. So I had to take a job as a temp employee for educational testing company, which we will call Company X. (Company X is a big worldwide-type company and its probably a bit unseemly for me to name them in this post, as it is such a big company and this was just one small division that dicked me over)

Now my job was to handscore junior high essay tests from various states that Company X had contracts with. It was pretty menial work and I had to drive an hour and a half to get there, but whatever, it paid well. I started there at the end of March.

Ok, so with that in mind, on to the pitting.
The deadline for the contract I was working on was supposed to end last Friday. However, my group was way behind schedule, so I had to stay overtime every day last week (sometimes to 7:30 or so) to make up for my groups lackluster performance.(That’s a whole other story) I even came in on Saturday and worked 5 hours, but still the project was not complete and I was scheduled to be transferred to a new project on Monday. Soooo…my supervisor asked me and a few other people to stay on the project Monday to finish it up. Ok, I said, as long as I still have a spot reserved in the new project. I was assured that I did. But as I’m walking around the building, I can see that all of the spots were filled. So I’m kind of nervous and I go to talk to the floor manager. She assures me my spot is safe.