My grandfather's cremated bones were stained green by chemotherapy

My grandfather, who had stomach cancer, died and was cremated, and some of his bones were stained green (after cremation). We were told that it was the effect of chemotherapy.

Has anyone seen something like this, and what exactly was the chemotherapy doing specifically to cause this staining? And what would the color have been prior to the intense heat of the oven (I’m assuming the heat also changed the color of the stains?)

I’m a pharmacist and have never heard of this! I do know that some radiopharmaceuticals can make the bones slightly radioactive (Metastron is the first that comes to mind) but those are rarely used and I wouldn’t have handled them anyway. That might make them fluoresce, but turn green? The only green (as in the color, not the woo philosophy) chemo drug I can recall is Mustargen, and that’s used almost exclusively for leukemia and lymphoma, and I don’t recall it staining tissues or bodily discharges.

How bright was the green color?

BTW, I Googled “green chemotherapy” and a few other phrases, and all I got were links to the OP and a lot of crunchy granola websites.

Fairly bright green, like taking white bones and rubbing green grass over them so they have grass juice stains. Only parts of some bones were stained.

Soylent Green is people!

Don’t they usually pulverize the bones after cremation? I’ve never heard of someone getting back a set of intact bones.

A lot of the bones/bone fragments weren’t pulverized yet. They were partially intact. (This was in Taiwan, so maybe procedures are different.)

Who told you that the color was the result of the chemo?

The only green color I can imagine would be a copper salt. I think we can exclude chlorophyll.

If the story came from the crematorium, they may be trying to divert attention from something they did which caused the discoloration.

How long was the chemo therapy, and what time was there between the therapy and death?