My male nipple paradox

The male nipple leads me to believe something which I reject.

It seems that single-sex mammals must have existed before they split into male and female.

If sexual reproduction preceded the development of mammals, why would males have nipples?

I’m a database designer. We have salespeople and production people using the same system.

When I write a function strictly for use by the production people, there’s a button for invoking that function available on the menu screen that salespeople and production people both use. If a salesperson clicks on the button, they get a message saying that they don’t have the proper privileges to invoke that function. Nevertheless, the function exists, as does the button that invokes it, and it could be turned on for them if needs or situations change.

It’s just efficient development to do it that way.

If some anal-constipated managerial type insisted that I “disappear” the buttons of non-salesperson functions from the screen when salesfolks log in, I could do that, but it’s more work for me, not less, to customize the interface and make the buttons actually not be present for users for whom their functionality is disabled.

It has to do with the way mammals develop. So far as I know, all critters start out female, and if they have the requisite chromosome they turn male instead. Vestigial nipples are merely a sign of this.

Of course, there are also some species in which the males lactate (some sort of fruit bat, I believe) and it’s possible to get male humans to lactate if you feed them the right hormones. So the male nipple isn’t entirely a dud.

Nonsense.

Cecil’s Why do men have nipples?

Some of the zillion previous threads: