(My) old age and new music

I am 65. I have been listening to, and loving, music since about 1959, and I have always enjoyed the fact that rock (for want of a better, more inclusive term) constantly reinvents itself. I have always been excited by finding out what is just around the corner.

Until now. About five years ago, I found that I was becoming less and less interested in new music. I don’t know why, and what has changed in me, but while I still love the music I have enjoyed since 1959, current stuff seems to me to be either a re-hash of what has gone before, or a weaker version of it. I am disappointed in myself, because it must be a symptom of getting old - and that is a shame.

Or it could be that you’re hearing a lot of really bad music. I tend not to listen to music stations on the radio because since forever they seem to play the same few songs over and over and over, but that’s another story. My point is, the few times I’ve heard today’s “hits” I find myself cringing and how inane they sound, or how manufactured and packaged as opposed to performed, if that makes any sense.

I’d like to think that there are talented people making amazing music today but they’re not commercial enough, whatever that means. But do make space for me on your geezer bench, because I agree, and I’m still a youthful 62!

Make another seat on the geezer’s bench for this 62-year old. I am still interested in new music, for which I thank Amazon’s sampling capability, because I would never have heard the new songs I like on any of the local radio stations (all owned by Clear Channel and playing extremely formulaic programming). That being said, there have been periods when I can’t find much of anything I like at all, but thankfully those dry spells have always resolved themselves when something new and clever comes along.