My (rapidly becoming) annual rant about first year undergrads

Right, so I’m a postgrad student, and as a contributing member of society (as opposed to a slacker), I teach first year undergrads in the Physics department. What do I teach them? Maths.

Now to get in to do a physics degree you have to have A-Levels in maths and physics, at B or above. This means that they are all reasonably intelligent, and they all have more than a modicum of mathematical ability. They sat these exams in June, and now they come to us having promptly forgotten everything, and I mean everything that they have ever learnt about maths ever.

I get the most inane questions from them, things that they ought to know, and it appears that they’ve never even heard of them.

But you know what, I don’t blame the students, I blame the fucking exam boards. Culling the syllabi here and there, filling it with useless junk, making sure that everything is handed to students on a plate, so that they never ever have to think about what they are doing. In my last class I was accused of mathematical trickery and some sort of mathematical sleight of hand, because the students haven’t been taught basic concepts at A-level. Some of them can’t even do simple mental arithmetic :confused:

There is an outcry every year that standards are slipping, and you know what, I fully agree now. A-level students now, find the exam papers I did six years ago ridiculously hard, because they haven’t been taught it! Damn you incompetant exam boards. Damn you all!

There. That feels better now.

Do you have any examples?

Examples. Let’s see,

This was whilst integrating 1/(1+x[sup]2[/sup]) with respect to x, where you use the substitution x=tanu, and due to the properties of trig. functions, you simply end up integrating du. The fact that they didn’t even know that the substitution should take the form of a trig function floored me as well.

And on unit vectors in non-cardinal directions in a Cartesian base