My region suffocates

As a long time lurker, I admit I’m a bit nervous to be addressing such an illustrious crowd. But I feel I must speak: my whole entire damned town is suffocating. There is no gas, anywhere. Not just my town, but every other surrounding town. Asheville, Black Mountain, Fletcher, Lake Lure, Hendersonville, Flat Rock, all empty. There are no working pumps within driving distance. I’m substantially pissed off.

The second a gas station gets back into operation, it is immediately besieged by hundreds of cars. I’m not even shitting you, for effect. Hundreds of cars. I can’t get to class, my mom can’t get to work. The news says that we’ll be fucked for another week. Who is the dumbshit that decided to build my neighborhood seventeen miles away from a grocery store, and the grocery store five miles from the college?

I’m a good student, but it doesn’t mean shit if I can’t get to school. My mom’s a hard worker, but it doesn’t mean shit if she can’t get to work. So, fuck everyone who ever took part in developing this precarious lifestyle, where a hurricane over a week ago, halfway across the country, can so thoroughly put a halt to the lives of so many people, so far away. No, I don’t want fuel pumped into this bullshit way of life. The kind of lives we are trying to lead only have value as long as there is gas in the car. You know what I’m going to do tomorrow? Stay home and fume, because I can’t get anywhere!

Maybe you need to invest in some bikes. There is no public transportation at all?

What does not being able to use your cars have to do with suffocating?

Is this your college? Link. Says they’re closing temporarily until the situation gets better.

At least when this sort of thing happens now one still generally has the Internet.

You did read where the grocery store is five miles away, right?