Need caregiving experiences/advice. I'm looking after my dad...

Hi, Dopers! Has anyone here given or received home care from a family member during/after a serious illness? I’m sure some have, and I’m new to this so I’m looking for some support. Not for myself, only, but also for my father who is home recovering from heart surgery.

Here’s what’s up. Dad is 70, set in his ways, a bit (heh) stubborn, retired and accustomed to living at home alone. For the past couple of decades, he’s had a very independent lifestyle. No kids at home, doing what he wants when he wants, you know…

I am his middle-aged daughter, now staying with him in his home. It’s not a burden or anything like that, helping him is what I’m here for. Laundry, pet care, groceries, etc. But it’s a situation that is so foreign to me that I’d like any input y’all might give me. I know the technicalities of his oxygen supply, his meds, keeping appointments, doctor’s instructions and all that…I guess I’d just like to hear about other people’s experiences.

Have you ever had heart surgery, or been on oxygen, or smoked a pack a day and eaten a diet of CRAP for years then had to change that rightthisveryminute? Have you tended a family member at home who has gone through this?

How did everything turn out for you? I’d love to hear your stories.

Well my dad is close to that age, he’s 75, but he is still pretty functional. Here is a website where you can talk to people live 1 on 1 about various problems or concerns you may have, for this situation or any other:
http://www.7cupsoftea.com